52 Weeks Of Gratitude

image

The reason that I am starting this challenge from Localadventurer.com is to take an inventory of all the things that I should be more grateful for. Too many times I fall into the trap of looking at the things that other people have and compare them to the things I have.

The problem with this is that you do tend to lose sight of all that you do have in your life. Looking at my life compared to my collegues, I tend to focus on what I feel like are their financial blessings and the things that they have. I have in the past been envoius of the station in life that my collegues are in compared to mine. This has led me to be somewhat bitter and unhappy in my life. I can no longer covet those things that are not in my possession at this point in my life. I have heard somewhere that God will not bless with new things if you are not appreciative of what you have. He can’t give you more until you are satisfied with what you have now.

So for this year, gratitude is my one word that will define my life. I plan to be grateful for my life, my job, my family….everything that God has given to me and only me. From there all other bessing will flow. Trust me, I am definitely ready for an increase.

What are you grateful for?

One thought on “

  1. I’m so happy to hear you’re doing this challenge. Although I feel like the saying that God will not bless you with more if you don’t appreciate what you have is just a ‘christianese’ saying.. maybe interpreted from โ€œOne who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I think God does tell you to be grateful in all circumstances though. It seems like with social media, it’s really common to think everyone else has it better.. but you rarely see the ugly truths or the boring parts of people’s lives bc we all rarely share them. I have to often take a step back remind myself that everyone has their share of blessings and boring and ugly parts of their lives too. No one has it perfect.. or at least I haven’t met them yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

